Now in its 21st year, Formula SAE-A is a motorsport competition where university students design, build and compete in their very own Formula-style open-wheeled racing car. Each December, thousands of students, volunteers and spectators get to experience 30+ university teams pitting their machines head-to-head in this educational program.

And the secret’s out... The event is now also attracting teams from all over the world including the UK, Germany, India, Japan, New Zealand, and USA.

Formula SAE-A is proudly presented by the Society of Automotive Engineers Australasia, working to enhance university education by bringing industry into the classroom and a great way to see STEM in practice. So if you're interested in automotive engineering or motorsport, come and check out the action.

How to register

Formula SAE-A is open to teams from Australia and New Zealand universities, TAFE colleges and overseas teams.

Your university must agree to participate in the Formula SAE-Australasia competition, and provide a formal letter of participation on university letterhead and signed by the Faculty Advisor or equivalent authorised person. A letter template is available to download.

 All members of Australia and New Zealand teams must be members of SAE-Australasia. Team members from overseas must be members of their local SAE Society, ATA, IMechE or VDI. If no local society membership is available, all competing team members must apply to become members of SAE-Australasia in order to compete at the event. Students can apply to join SAE-Australasia here.

An invitation with full details and requirements for event participation and registration will be circulated to universities in April 2020. 

Team registrations open here on April 20

Return to the Formula SAE-A homepage

Copyright © 2019 Society of Automotive Engineers - Australasia